MENU
en  fr    
X close

NEWS

SHOP

Contact
Media
Legal notice



François Delarozière

“BUILDING A MOVING OBJECT IS CREATING LIVING ARCHITECTURE. MOVEMENT IS LIFE’S EXPRESSION.”

The theatre we practice is street theatre and action in the street. Scenes are performed in places that are used daily by all inhabitants. In short, especially in places where we would not expect them to take place. We deliberately surprise and unsettle the onlookers round the corner of a street. And so, this street art, this art in the streets, gives us the opportunity to imagine a collective fantasy, a unifying dream.

MACHINE DESIGNER

Born in Marseille in 1963, François Delarozière chooses the path of fine arts following five years of agricultural studies, taking full advantage of these years to explore all techniques associated with visual arts. In 1983 in Aix en Provence, he meets the company Royal de Luxe with whom he embarks upon a long companionship focused on street theatre. Most notably, he designs and leads the construction of The Giant, The Rhinoceros, The Little Giant, The Giraffes and The Little Girl Giant…

His mother is a musician and father a DIY genius. François covers his drawing pads in sketches of fantastical machines, carefully illustrating all aspects of their workings. “I like the insides of machines to be visible, their architecture, cogs and pulleys, so that we get a feel for how the thing is made.” In 1999, he creates La Machine, a non-profit organisation, constructing theatre sets, carousels for children and machines for productions. As artistic director of the company, François Delarozière ceaselessly explores the art of moving machines and their capacity to arouse emotion in the spectator. In this respect, his approach to street theatre is more visual design than narrative.

In 2003, wishing to involve themselves in the ongoing major urban regeneration project in Nantes, François Delarozière and Pierre Orefice propose several drawings to Jean Marc Ayrault, Mayor and President of Nantes Métropole. These would become Les Machines de l’Île, located on the Western point of Nantes Island, as part of the urban regeneration programme led in association with the architect Alexandre Chémétoff. These cultural and touristic facilities are inaugurated in 2007 and open the door to City Machines. These permanently located moving architectures bring dynamics into public spaces, as can be seen in Les Animaux de la Place in La Roche Sur Yon. As a designer and builder, François Delarozière also contributes to the architectural refurbishment of the Channel Theatre in Calais with architect Patrick Bouchain.

CREATOR OF LIVE PRODUCTIONS

François Delarozière is also a scenographer and director. As such, he started the Le Grand Répertoire-Machines de Spectacle, an exhibition-show presented between 2003 and 2006 in Nantes, Calais, Toulouse, Anvers, Marseilles and Paris and which attracted more than 700,000 spectators. In 2003 he creates La Symphonie Mécanique, combining the world of classical music and mechanical sounds. This philarmotechnical piece was co-written with Mino Malan. In 2008, Les Mécaniques Savantes are presented as a world-wide exclusive for Liverpool, European Capital of Culture. This mechanical bestiary is also presented the following year in Japan for the 150th anniversary of the opening of the port of Yokohama. In 2010, a new production Le Dîner des petites Mécaniques is created, showing a new way to prepare and present food, whilst the Expédition Végétale and its team of botanists take flight.
His latest creation, “Long Ma Jing Shen”, stages a Dragon-Horse created for the 50th anniversary of Franco-Chinese diplomatic relations in Beijing in 2015.

CONTRIBUTIONS AND PUBLICATIONS

For several years now, François Delarozière has been teaching scenography at the School of Architecture in Nantes. He was involved in the setting up of the FAIAR (Advanced and Itinerant Traning for Street Arts) project. He has been invited as guest speaker to the Sorbonne and the Bartlett School in London, as well as in Japan, Mexico, China and the United States, as well as at various seminars. Finally, he took part in the project Musica ex Machina at the University of Tours.

The majority of his artistic adventures have brought about publications such as, Grand Répertoire- Machines de Spectacles, Carnet de croquis et réalisations or La Machine : Spectacles published by Editions Actes Sud. He also published his sketches in notebook format : Les Machines de l’Île, Le Manège Carré Sénart, Les Mécaniques Savantes, Le Carrousel des Mondes Marins, Les Animaux de la Place, all published by La Machine.


ACCESS THE SHOP

 



arbre-aux-herons delaroziere01 portail-avec-legendes delaroziere02 serpent-des-mers delaroziere03 boeuf-vu-de-cote

MENU
  en  fr  
X fermer


François Delarozière

“Construire un objet en mouvement, c’est créer une architecture vivante. Le mouvement est l’expression de la vie.”

Le théâtre que nous pratiquons est un théâtre de rue et d’action dans la rue. Les scènes se jouent dans les lieux utilisés quotidiennement et pratiqués par les citoyens de la ville. En bref, surtout là où on ne l’attend pas. Nous revendiquons la surprise, le bouleversement du spectateur au coin d’une rue. Ainsi, cet art de la rue, cet art dans la rue nous permet d’envisager un imaginaire collectif, fédérateur de rêve.

CONCEPTEUR DE MACHINES

Né à Marseille en 1963, il choisit la voie des Beaux-Arts après des études agricoles et profite de ces cinq années d’études pour explorer toutes les techniques des arts plastiques. Il rencontre, en 1983 à Aix en Provence, la compagnie Royal de Luxe avec laquelle s’engage un long compagnonnage axé sur le spectacle de rue. Il a notamment conçu et dirigé la construction du Géant, du Rhinocéros, du Petit Géant, des Girafes et de la Petite Géante…

Ce fils d’une musicienne et d’un bricoleur de génie couvre ses carnets de croquis de machines fantastiques, prenant soin de représenter toutes les dimensions de leur fonctionnement. « J’aime qu’on voie l’intérieur des machines, l’architecture, les rouages, les poulies, qu’on ressente comment c’est fait. » En 1999, il fonde l’association La Machine qui intervient pour la construction de décors de théâtre, manèges d’enfants et machines de spectacle. En tant que directeur artistique de la compagnie, François Delarozière n’a de cesse d’explorer l’art des machines en mouvement et leur capacité à susciter une émotion chez le spectateur. En cela, il a une conception plus plasticienne que narrative du théâtre de rue.

En 2003, nourris par l’envie de participer au grand projet de ville, François Delarozière et Pierre Orefice proposent à Jean-Marc Ayrault, député maire de Nantes et président de Nantes Métropole, plusieurs croquis. Ils deviendront « les Machines de l’Ile », sur la pointe ouest de l’Ile de Nantes, dans le cadre du renouvellement urbain, mené en collaboration avec Alexandre Chémétoff. Cet équipement touristique et culturel inauguré en 2007 ouvre la voie aux « machines de villes », ces  architectures en mouvement, pérennes dynamisent l’espace public à l’image des « Animaux de la Place » à  la Roche sur Yon. Concepteur et constructeur, il participe également au réaménagement architectural du Channel, scène nationale de Calais avec Patrick Bouchain.

CRéATEUR DE SPECTACLE VIVANT

François Delaroziere est également scénographe et metteur en scène. Il a ainsi initié « Le Grand Répertoire – Machines de spectacle », une exposition spectacle présentée entre 2003 et 2006 à  Nantes, Calais, Toulouse, Anvers, Marseille et Paris et a rassemblé plus de 700 000 spectateurs. En 2003 il créé la « Symphonie Mécanique », alliant l’univers de la musique classique et les sonorités mécaniques. Cette pièce philarmotechnique est coécrite avec Mino Malan. En 2008, les « Mécaniques Savantes » sont présentées en exclusivité mondiale pour Liverpool, capitale culturelle européenne. Ce bestiaire mécanique est également présenté l’année suivante  au Japon à  l’occasion du 150è anniversaire de l’ouverture du port de Yokohama. En 2010, un nouveau spectacle voit le jour : Le « Dîner des petites mécaniques » qui réinvente les arts de la table tandis que l’ « Expédition végétale » et son équipage de scientifiques botanistes prend son envol. « LongMa Jing Shen », sa dernière création met en scène un cheval Dragon créé pour le 50è anniversaire de l’établissement des relations diplomatiques France-Chine à  Pékin en 2015.

INTERVENTIONS & éDITIONS

Depuis plusieurs années, François Delarozière enseigne au département Scénographie de l’école d’architecture de Nantes. Il a participé à la création de la FAIAR (Formation Avancée Itinérante des Arts de Rue). Il donne des conférences à  la Sorbonne ainsi qu’à la Barlett School of London, mais aussi au Japon, Mexique, Chine, aux États-Unis, et intervient dans différents colloques. Enfin, il est intervenu à  l’Université de Tours dans le cadre du projet « Musica ex machina ».

La plupart de ses aventures artistiques ont donné naissance à  des ouvrages tels le « Grand Répertoire – Machines de spectacle », « Carnet de croquis et Réalisations » ou encore « La Machine : spectacles » publiés aux Editions Actes Sud. Il édite également ses croquis sous forme de carnets : Les Machines de l’Ile, le Manège Carré Sénart, les Mécaniques Savantes, le Carrousel des Mondes marins, les Animaux de la Place édités par la Machine.


Accéder à la boutique

 



arbre-aux-herons delaroziere01 portail-avec-legendes delaroziere02 serpent-des-mers delaroziere03 boeuf-vu-de-cote