MENU
en  fr    
X close

NEWS

SHOP

Contact
Media
Legal notice



Les mécaniques savantes

THIS IS THE STORY OF THE MEETING BETWEEN A CITY, HUMAN BEINGS AND THEIR GIANT PERFORMING ANIMALS, LES MÉCANIQUES SAVANTES.

Les Mécaniques Savantes, for which the company created two giant spiders, was performed for the first time in Liverpool, European Capital of Culture in 2008, and then in Yokohama in 2009. For each city, we create a new project, a new object.

Every production is different. Other Mécaniques Savantes are expected to turn up at planned major world events. These giant performing animals love to appear at large human gatherings. On each occasion, La Machine Company studies them and operates them throughout the city, thus transforming it into a scenic space.

These machines feed an unusual vision of theatre, reading movement as a language, and in turn a source of emotion. The operators, engines, animals and musicians intermingle, confront and tune in with each other, thus creating images that change our relationship with the city, suddenly transformed.


A production created by François Delarozière.


Dates & coproduction

– Creation –

a lA mACHINE AND fRANÇOIS dELAROZIÈRE production.
ASSOCIATE AUTHORS : dOMINIQUE MALAN (MUSIC) AND tHIERRY lORIDAN (SPECIAL EFFECTS)
COPRODUCed by LA MACHINE, ARTICHOKE TRUST in LONDON AND le CHANNEL THEATRE in CALAIS



spider2 mecaniques_savantes02 mecaniques_savantes03 mecaniques_savantes04

MENU
  en  fr  
X fermer

Les mécaniques savantes

C’EST L’HISTOIRE DE LA RENCONTRE ENTRE UNE VILLE, DES HOMMES ET LEURS ANIMAUX SAVANTS GéANTS : LES MéCANIQUES SAVANTES.

Jouées pour la première fois à  Liverpool, Capitale Européenne de la Culture en 2008 puis à  Yokohama en 2009, la compagnie a créé deux araignées géantes.Nous inventons avec chaque ville un nouveau projet, un nouvel objet.

Chaque spectacle est différent. D’autres Mécaniques savantes sont attendues lors des grands évènements mondiaux à  venir. En effet, elles aiment à  apparaître lors des rassemblements humains d’envergure. A chaque fois, les chercheurs de La Machine les étudient et les manipulent dans la ville transfigurant celle-ci en espace scénique.

Ces machines nourrissent une vision singulière du théâtre qui interprète le mouvement comme un langage, lui-même source d’émotion.Les manipulateurs, les engins, les animaux, les musiciens et les manipulateurs se croisent, s’affrontent et s’accordent pour créer des images transformant un rapport à la cité soudain métamorphosée.


Un spectacle créé par François Delarozière.


Dates & coproduction

–Représentations –

2011
Reims, Inauguration du nouveau tramway et 800ème anniversaire de la cathédrale

2009
Yokohama, 150ème anniveraire de l’ouverture du Japon à l’international

2008
Liverpool, Capitale culturelle européenne

– Création –

Un spectacle de la Compagnie La Machine et François Delaroziere.

Auteurs associés : Dominique Malan (musique) et Thierry Loridant (effets)

Coproduction : La Machine, Artichoke Trust (London) et Le Channel, scène nationale de Calais



spider2 mecaniques_savantes02 mecaniques_savantes03 mecaniques_savantes04